You Dig – Ghazal – Poem – NaPoWriMo Day 13


Ghazal – As I’ve been reading other NaPoWriMo posts I’ve noticed that a lot of folks are doing this from a daily prompt. As such, I’ve seen several writers using the “Ghazal” prompt like the one from here. That post discusses the Ghazal form of poetry and I’ve included a bit of that post below:

“And our prompt today is to write a ghazal. This is an old Persian form of poetry, and rather strange if you’re used to European meter-and-rhyme forms. A ghazal is made of couplets. Traditionally, the the two lines of the first couplet end with the same word or phrase, and then that same word/phrase is used to end the second line of each succeeding couplet. All of the lines are supposed to be of about the same length, although there is no formal meter or syllable count. If you want to get super traditional/technical, the last couplet is supposed to refer to the poet, either by name, or through some kind of allusion.

One of the strangest things about a ghazal is there’s no obligation for the various couplets to have much of anything to do with one another. You can almost think of each couplet as its own, self-contained poem. The unity of the poem as a whole doesn’t derive from narrative logic, so much as from the repeated refrain that ends each couplet.”

Quote from: http://www.napowrimo.net/2012/04/day-thirteen/

In reading some posts, I see variations that included rhyming of the last word(s) in the couplet but I don’t think this is in keeping with the intent of the Ghazal form. I believe (based on what’s above) that in keeping with tradition, the two lines of the first couplet end with the same word or phrase and the that same word or phrase is used again to end the second line of each of the following couplets.

My words of choice are “you dig”

I had the start of a poem earlier today and I decided to expand it and to morph it into the Ghazal form. It was an interesting challenge and I hope you enjoy it:

You Dig

I stand outside, I dig, you dig
When I do I think of you, dig

You who have buried me
With smashing words, you dig

You who dug me up
Unburied me, you dig

You who scraped off top soil
For others use, you dig

You who mixed in potting soil
To nurture me, you dig

You who harvested my fruit
For others to consume, you dig

You who planted seeds for me
In soil deep, you dig

You are all witnessed here
Through Stephen’s eyes, you dig

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

 

4 comments on “You Dig – Ghazal – Poem – NaPoWriMo Day 13

Your thoughts?

