In Memory of Tammy’s Dad


I wrote this shortly after Tammy’s dad passed away. She is a friend of mine and she also posted on FB about her dad passing away and based on that I wrote this poem.

In Memory of Tammy’s Dad

Final flight has taken you to a place of grace.
Here I sit remembering you and thinking of your face.

Kids left here, grand kids too but on you went, it was time for you.
They will understand, in time they do

your life meant something to them
your death will too.

The time was now, hard as that seems,
but grace is seen as you lingered not to extremes.

Pain is here but love felt too, memories to hold, hurt and truth
Smiles to share, tears to bear but love and care for you.

So on you went and here we stay, and up we’ll get for another day.
Thoughts, memories and lessons learned will guide us on our way.

But you’re not through here, as life will show, you’ll live in pictures, memories and stories told.
Thoughts will lead and memories abide, lessons taught will serve as guides.

And one day too our lives will end and meet again we will
But till then, life, I will embrace and remember you still.

I’ll think of you and love you dad until we meet in death.
For you are dad and dad you’ll be as long as I take breath.

Stephen Kellogg – 2009

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

