Orders – Words for a song I wrote with my brother Chris


This is a song that my brother Chris and I came up with during one of our “jam” sessions. Thanks to all the military folks and their family!!!
  

Orders

I took her hand and led her out the door
And down the path we’ve walked a hundred times before

I held her tight under the glowing moon
Heavy heart; I’ve got to tell her soon

We talked about this just the other day
before we knew we had one on the way

A world away from where she used to be
And now I’m heading far across the sea

I held her close and looked into her eyes
remembered all the times I’d seen her cry

I got my orders at work today
tellin’ me that I’ll be far away

Pulled my notepad out to write to home
want to tell you what’s been going on

Lost a friend out on patrol today
picture of his face won’t fade away

For his country he gave his life
His wife and family have paid the price

The pictures sent helped ease my mind
can’t wait to hold her for the very first time

My time here’s coming to an end
The freedom bird will take me home again

I think about her as the days go by
she’s got your smile and she’s got your eyes

I dream about you every night and day
and thank the lord that I am on my way back home
to you

Song I wrote with Chris Kellogg 2008

Stephen Kellogg – 2008

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Song and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orders – Words for a song I wrote with my brother Chris

  1. gemini232006 says:

    It’s beautiful, I would be very interested in hearing it once you get it recorded 🙂

Your thoughts?

