Hold loose, embrace the whole


Hold loose, embrace the whole

When love is treated like a rose
And grasped too hard
Or squeezed to core
Then blood will flow from clinched hand
And love is blamed for scars and pain

Love is forced to then be tamed
So rose is cut and put in vase
Where smell and beauty last a while
But rose will wilt and smell will fade
Glory is gone and with it the flame

But left on bush to grow with the sun
Rose will bloom one by one
And gently caressed and held to nose
Beauty and fragrance continues to flow
And even when one bloom fades
Another steps in to take its place 

So love of the bush and care of what’s there
Lets you continue to view and share
The love that’s found in each expression
When bud is allowed to bloom and grow
Love continues to develop

Bud by bud

Bloom by bloom

Grow by flow
 

Stephen Kellogg – 2008

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hold loose, embrace the whole

  1. epicswife says:

    I have to say I really like this one – but the title of it kinda confuses me – because I feel that it is more of a one on one relationship? I love the line “glory is gone and with it the flame” beautiful !!!

  2. Melanie,
    Thanks for the feedback! My title, like the poem, IS talking about a one on one relationship. Hold loose (to the love you have) (while) embracing the whole (person)…

    The thought is that we sometimes grab to tightly either to one aspect of a person we love or are too caught up in one part of a person that we think we’re losing.. So, we squeeze tightly trying to hold on to something we’re afraid of losing and we end up getting hurt. And we cut that beautiful portion and try to stick it in a place where we can enjoy it (or control it). In so doing we’ve isolated that portion from the actual bush (the person, the whole) so that eventually that one aspect starts to fade and the love of the whole person with it….

    But if we hold loosely, we can enjoy the new aspects as they form and come alive and when they fade, it’s not loss because there are many more things blooming and growing because the bush as a whole is what you’re learning about / with, growing and loving..

    ok I’ve rambled, but did that explain it?

    Stephen

  3. epicswife says:

    Oh……. I see – I get it now – for whatever reason I was thinking it was along the lines of hold loose (to that single person) and embrace the whole, as in “all of love” with something else or someone else – it took me out of the moment – i don’t know why – but I really do understand it now – Thanks 🙂

    I think the idea of the “whole” was my interpretation of the love of all mankind or something – it’s been a tough week – gonna just have to bear with me on that one LOL 🙂 Thanks for clearing it up !!! Have a great night !!

Your thoughts?

