My friend love – Poem


Ok so it’s not actually midnight like the poem says, it’s actually now apparently after 4AM (Yikes!!!) I was heading to bed and the first few lines of the poem hit me so I sat back down and started typing… Hope you enjoy and happy Valentines day!

 

My friend love

 

I’m sitting here at midnight
There’s a knock upon the door
Then an old familiar face is there
A friend from my before 

I go and greet her slowly
I pause a step or two
For my friend she walks in lightly
And she carries your heart too

She says you’re out there somewhere
And your needing a friend who
Can come over and sit beside you
And hold you anew

As I stand here I’m debating
Wondering what I’ll do
She reaches out to touch me
She reaches in and then

Pulls my heart out to take with her
As she holds it in the air
All that I can do is wonder
All I can do is stare

She merges hearts together
And then I feel it too
As a tear rolls down her face
I can feel your love and through

The mist that forms in my eyes
As the tears begin to fall
I reach for my coat hoping
That you’ll answer when I call

Cause I know now that you’re out there
Your hearts been held to me
My hearts been intertwined there
It’s you I long to see

For my friend she came to visit
And she’s grabbing at my hand
Leading me to your life
Where I know you’ll understand

That I’m on my way to hold you
And I know you’ll hold me too
Cause I saw our hearts together
And I think it’s time you knew 

That my love for you is growing
It’s you I long to see
Together we’ll be better
Together we’ll be free

To explore this thing called love
To find this thing called hope
To surge beyond the mundane
To move beyond the cloak

Cause my friend she came to visit
Haven’t seen her for a while
But she showed up here this evening
In her graceful prodding style

To let me know you’re out there
To show me how we blend
To show our heart connections
And how we’re more than friends

So I’m following her prompting
Her image of hearts combined
Her sad is turning happy
She starts to fade from mind

I’m left here wondering whether
She was real or just a dream
But my phone is in my right hand
Car keys in left it seems

I feel your heart, it’s tugging
Pulling me along your way
Was it you who sent the lady
With your heart out on display

So it seems that you are out there
You’re calling me your way
You’ve sent our friend the lady
And you’ve sent her here to say 

That love is still out there
Your heart is there for mine
We’ve both felt the longing
And now I think it time

That we listen to the lady
Yes you’ve sent her here yourself
To check my hearts condition
Is it live or on the shelf 

I was sitting here at midnight
And love knocked upon the door
With your heart she came a calling
She’s a friend from my before

It took a minute to recognize
My approach was kind of slow
But your heart she held out wisely
And I basked in its glow

I’m on my way to meet you
My heart is in her hand
It’s still a little tender
But I’ve moved beyond the bland

I’ve sent the lady calling
She’s on her way to you
She’s got my heart on display
My love is there for you 
 

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My friend love – Poem

  1. wordwand says:

    a good choice of words, thanks for the lovely poem.
    the story within hooked me up to the end.

  2. Abderrahim,
    Thanks for dropping in and looking around. I really appreciate the feedback. I’ve just recently started this blog and have been grabbing poems from my past to post here. I’ve also written a few haikus but it’s been a bit since I’ve written a new poem. Please drop back and check in again.

    Peace
    Stephen

  3. ishabelle says:

    i hope this award will brighten your day… 🙂

    check out the award at http://poetryperspectives.wordpress.com

    you’ll read your name in my blog…

    http://ishabellemanalo.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/happy-award/

    • Isha,
      thanks so much! It was a rough day for me at work, but I’ve had several nice surprises here as the day comes to a close. I haven’t been blogging for long so I really appreciate the comments and boost this brings. It did indeed brighten my day!

      Thanks and keep writing!

      Peace

      Stephen

  4. Well now, this is a most wonderful poem. I really was caught up in the emotion and the simple way you worded everything here. It reminded me that love is and always will be a beautiful stranger calling to take our hearts whether we are aware of it or not. Just beautiful poem.

    Regards. Added you to my link page. Nice to meet you

    • Poetryperspectives,
      thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my poem. It really is great to see what others get out of the words I write, so thanks for taking the time to express. I also appreciate you adding me to your link page. I hope to post more soon.

      Peace

      Stephen

  5. thomaswilliamspoetry says:

    This is really nice, i enjoyed it. I love poems that tell a story, it gives an extra dimension i think. Thanks a lot for commenting on some of my stuff, i’m glad you liked them, it really meant a lot to have my first comments on my fledging blog. Good to see that there are lots of us out there writing poetry and blogging about it. Make sure you check back soon. I look forward to reading more of your stuff.

    Tom

Your thoughts?

