Let the tears fall where they may – Poem


I wrote this for someone who has experienced loss in her life. I was inspired by her photos and writings, many of which deal with her pain and loss. I originally wrote a haiku for her titled “Let the tears fall.” I saw the title of that haiku and this poem came out.

Let the tears fall where they may

Let the tears fall where they may
Rolling down my cheeks
Off my chin and nose
Bouncing off the floor
With them, the memories of you
Dance at my feet

Let the tears fall where they may
As I sit here holding head in hands
Staring down through misty eyes at the floor
Pictures of you lay there
Tears continue to fall, dropping to and fro
You dance and weave under their glow

Let the tears fall where they may
I try and stop them, useless
You were here one day
Then gone
Each day I wake to find the hole is not whole yet
You are still on my mind, and my heart aches
For one more day, hour, with you

Let the tears fall where they may
For today I release what tomorrow I may hold at bay
You are gone, condolences start to fade
Along with flowers given
But your face still smiles at me
Tears cannot erase, pain cannot be hidden

Let the tears fall where they may
For tonight they hit pictures
Tomorrow the pillow
The next day they mix with rain
As I visit where you lay
Bearing flowers, that too, shall fade

Let the tears fall where they may
For now it is a healing that’s needed
A purging for the loss of life, but not love
Tonight I reminisce with the pictures at my feet
Tears of sorrow
And of happier times combine

One day
I may pause
Think of you
And only smile
But for now I’ll just
Let the tears fall where they may

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

Y, may you find peace during this difficult time.

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let the tears fall where they may – Poem

  1. ishabelle says:

    stephen, i want to thank you again for the haiku you wrote for me… 🙂 i want to give you this award… http://ishabellemanalo.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/forever-friends-award

    thanks for your friendship… :)*wink*

  2. y says:

    thank you, Stephen, for this touching tribute. will you also try to write the beautiful image you described on my latest post?

  3. Pingback: The tips of our dreams – Poem « Stephen Kellogg's Blog

  4. Heart says:

    Thanks Stephen, for your comments on my blog.. ! I treasure every sincere note, and it means a lot to me. All your Love poems are amazing.. Deeply touching and emotionally rich.. !! Added you onto my blog roll.. Good day! Rachana.

    • Rachana,
      I feel remiss that I didn’t reply to this comment. I just got notice that Blaga (Broken Sparkles) added a comment and when I got to this page, I realized that you had left one a year ago that I never responded to… and such an encouraging comment at that!
      Thanks for your comments and for your writing. You have been a good encouragement to me along the way. Hopefully, with my goal of 30 poems in 30 days this month, there will be a few more for you to enjoy.

      Peace,

      Stephen

  5. Let the tears fall where they may
    For tonight they hit pictures
    Tomorrow the pillow
    The next day they mix with rain
    As I visit where you lay
    Bearing flowers, that too, shall fade …

    My favorite part! It’s sad, but sadness is part of our lives and sometimes poetry helps to go through it …

  6. Blaga,
    It’s always a wonderful surprise to get feedback on a post that you haven’t read in a while.
    I appreciate you pulling out specific parts of a poem that reached you the most / that you liked the best. Sadness is definitely a part of our life and a strong influencer in much of poetry.

    Thanks, as always, for the feedback.

    Peace,

    Stephen

Your thoughts?

