Such loss – Dogo Hauwa – Plateau state – Nigeria – Poem


I suppose this is considered a poem. In short, my dad travels several times a year to various places in Africa as a missionary. He has some there who, though technically unrelated, call him dad and have e-mailed me as brother etc. because we “share” the same dad in their eyes. So my African brother lives in Jos, Nigeria approximately 10 miles from the village of Dogo Hauwa where recent brutal attacks took place. Along with his words was an attached photo that showed a portion of all the people that were brutally killed. The picture was mostly of children, very heart wrenching, sad loss. The following was my response. May God bless my African brother and keep him and his family safe…

Such loss – Plateau state – Nigeria

Such precious life wasted
Lying still on the dirt road
Bodies on bodies, twisted
Deformed, mutilated
Dead
And for what?
Because belief is not the same?
Because ethnicity is different?
And for this you shame your god?
How can one be brought to the point
Of turning instruments of harvest
Into weapons that harvest souls
Their God shall take them to glory
Will your god welcome you in
How can it be that you’re convinced
That you have the right to take a life?
And to do it in the name of any god?

How can there be, such travesty
Such hate,
Such limiting of the mind
And hardening of the heart to the point
That you can kill the innocence of children
The wealth of wisdom, love,
Potential of life of the adults
And where do you go
When it’s all said and done?
Do you celebrate a “victory” won?
Do you look at your children
With pride in your eyes?
Can you face your
Father, mother
Sister, brother,
Wife…
Self?

What do you expect to gain
From such loss of life?
Only pain, future reprisal
And more loss of life?
I thank God that I am here
And pray for those there
That peace may find its way
Quickly to Plateau state 

I wish peace, comfort and love to those trying to cope with loss there in the Plateau state.

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Such loss – Dogo Hauwa – Plateau state – Nigeria – Poem

  1. epicswife says:

    Such sorrow I feel from this. I agree with the last lines “I wish peace, comfort and love to those trying to cope with loss there in the Plateau state.” I wish this for everyone having to deal with pain, suffering and loss !!! Well written!

Your thoughts?

