Do you know who you are? – Poem


The thought for this poem came when I was writing a pondering. The pondering came from a comment I left on someone else’s blog.  Funny how things work sometimes.

Do you know who you are?

Do you know who you are
Do you care what they think
Are you too wrapped up in perceptions
To write it down in ink

Is the world your pressure cooker
Or do you dig deep down inside
And present who you are willingly
Or do you look in the mirror and cry

Are there three identities carried
Like a wallet with multiple ID’s
Whipping out the one that works best
The one you think will please

There’s the one you present to others
Maybe multiple, I don’t know
It’s the one you present as the real you
Based on how you think things will flow

There’s the one that others put on you
Their perceptions of you may lie
Look at you and mock you
Or make you feel real high

But the one that’s most important
This one can be hard to relay
It’s the one you should try to present
The one where you stand up and say

This is who I am
I like me just for me
I’d love to share me with you
But it’s me you’ve got to see

If you don’t like what you’re seeing
When I’m showing you my world
Don’t try to come in and change it
Express your feelings, you’ll be heard

I’m willing to be flexible
To change and to grow
But there’s fundamental parts of me
Parts I have to show

Don’t try to bend and fold me
To meet your every need
Cause I’m learning to look inside
And to cultivate the real me

If you’re willing to work with me
As I excavate my soul
Then I’ll share my inner self with you
And you can watch me grow

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do you know who you are? – Poem

  1. Samantha says:

    I do not know you, but after reading the comment you left on my blog, I came here, to yours. No one has ever said anything like that to me before, and though I have often felt like I am a different person around other people, I have never done anything about it. So I would like to thank you. Your poem spoke to me, and it inspired me. Now I realize that I should be able to show people who I am, and I should not hide behind other identities.

    –Rose

    • Rose,
      thanks so much for this comment. It encourages me to continue to write and post as well as comment on other blogs. Keep writing your heart and being true to yourself! Be strong in who you are!

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. Steve,
    It’s a really perceptive poem! And I know you really did understand my haiku because this poem is driven by quite similar feelings.

    I can tell that for you, too, writing is a spiritual exercise.

Your thoughts?

