Heartache – Poem


Heartache

I sit here wondering
As my
brain
tumbles
down
toward the dungeons of my heart
Where it is I lost you

A tear trickles
down
my
face
Sitting here in my disgrace
Weaving its way down the creases
of my
weather
worn
skin
Wondering, where did it end

Knowing
as my brain
touches
down
and deepens my frown
that I didn’t get to know you
the you,
you were
meant
to be
All I could see was me

Now I sit here
Heart a
cavernous
echoed
room,
sorry, gloom
I wonder
When will the pain end
will it fill again
what will I learn

And what of you
Do you sit and stew
Tears rolling
down
your
cheeks
Do you blame yourself
for the pain you felt
As your heart took a
stand
to
be
free
Do you still wonder why
Have pain that you hide
Are there
still
hanging
thoughts
of me there

Have you cut all your ties
to the me
that’s
gone
by
When I leave, do you
ever
just
stare
Confusion in your heart
A place to start
or are the
echoes
resounding
in
there

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heartache – Poem

  1. wordwand says:

    vivid imagery , a lovely poem.well done.

    • Abderrahim,
      Thanks as always for stopping by and commenting. I consider “vivid imagery” quite an honor for my poetry. I think great writing often paints pictures in your head.

      Thanks again,

      Stephen

  2. epicswife says:

    Wow – that is so sad !!! Almost made me cry 😦 But, great job – It is hard to make me cry !!

  3. Mel,
    thanks for the feedback… It’s always good to hear feedback that something I wrote reached someone. Sometimes crying is a good healing thing …
    Here’s a link to a poem I wrote about crying / tears:
    https://stephenkellogg.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/let-the-tears-fall-where-they-may-poem/

    Thanks again for the feedback… btw, I really like your new gravatar pic 🙂

    Peace,

    Stephen

  4. jymiely says:

    i just passed thru that first paragraph, and it made me giggle already.. i knew i’ll like this piece..;)

    “toward the dungeons of my heart
    Where it is I lost you
    toward the dungeons of my heart
    Where it is I lost you
    toward the dungeons of my heart
    Where it is I lost you”

    sorry, it kept on ringing in my head 😉

    “that I didn’t get to know you
    the you,
    you were
    meant
    to be
    All I could see was me” – this made me say: awwww… 😦

    really this is a sad,sad heart crushing piece.. if only I was heartbroken right now, you will made me cry stephen!

    well done! 😉

    • J.B.
      Thanks again for the continued feedback and comments. This was written during a sad time in my life. Part of which happens when we dig deep and discover more of our selves.

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

