Pregnant mama to be – Haiku


This poem came out of one of my favorite past times… “people watching.” I find people very interesting, their interactions with others, actions, words etc. I wrote a short pondering on this same topic. I was thinking about all this and this time, the poem came out first and then I wrote the pondering.

Pregnant mama to be

Round bellied mama
Rubbing your little tummy
showing tender love

Stephen Kellogg

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pregnant mama to be – Haiku

  1. epicswife says:

    Wow – this paints quite a different picture in my mind from the pondering post.

    • Mel,
      why is that? Or maybe the better question is … In what way? Is it because the pondering gives you more of a setting? Is it because this could sound like someone else is rubbing her belly and showing her love?

      thanks for the feedback

      Stephen

  2. epicswife says:

    I think because it starts off past tense and then shifts to a present tense action I lost the part of the viewing and saw it more as an after thought of what the mother was doing. I see it more as a view of motherhood (in the beginning) then it switches to a specific mother. But, from the pondering I know it is a specific person you were watching so it seemed different. I think the diction with the first line “round bellied mama” also makes it more colloquial or slang, and I did not get a sense of voice from her in the other post just action, but with your description here I get a “voice” in her that I did not have before, it gave it a whole new feeling that I did not have from the other post….. But, I like it 🙂 Does that make sense? LOL

  3. Yes it does and this is exactly what cracks me up with schools. Back when I was in college we had classes where they would send you home to read something and then give your thoughts about it either in writing or discussions.
    Then, they had the nerve to tell you that you were wrong and proceed to tell you what the author REALLY meant. Like they know. It was also interesting to see how people sometimes made every poem somehow relate to a certain thing.
    To me, this is one of the wonderful things about poetry, art, photos etc… they speak to people in different ways.

    I have to head out but will come back to this haiku again.. I’ve got another one I may post when I get back later tonight as well… Thanks so much for taking time to give feedback.. it’s really appreciated.

    Stephen

    • epicswife says:

      Yea gotta love college right LOL – I have faced that so many times! It gets annoying. There are a lot of things that I will miss about college – but that is not one of them. I really did like both posts – I just found them so different. Can’t wait to see the next one 🙂

      • Thanks.. I can’t wait to see the next one either 😉 … so busy these days it’s hard to find time to write. Hope to get some time to pause and ponder this weekend – oh and it’s only Monday 😦 ok I’ll have to try to get SOMETHING out before then.

  4. lesliepaints says:

    I like both of the posts surrounding this topic, Stephen. 🙂 I have to admit that I found it interesting how you perceived this woman. I hope, if anyone caught me rubbing my belly back then, thought these wonderful things about Motherhood from that image. I usually rubbed mine because it felt stretched to the max and rubbing soothed that discomfort. lol Beautiful writing.

    • Leslie,
      thanks… I like thinking my thoughts about it better 😉 but you’re probably right in that it’s what most often happening when a woman is rubbing her PG belly. Thanks for sharing, I’m sure you had that beautiful mother to be glow 😀

Your thoughts?

