Dew / tears – Haiku


Dew / tears

Tears on morning grass
Joy comes as nighttime passes
Tears fade to sun’s rays

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dew / tears – Haiku

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Lovely haiku comparing dew to tears and joy to sun!

  2. Leslie,
    I found this interesting when I wrote it as I wondered how people would interpret it. There are tears of sadness and tears of joy. I thought of the dew as tears but actually thought of them as tears of joy as in welcoming the morning..
    As I continued to ponder it though, I thought of our friend Y and how night time seems to be tough and that the tears of sadness could be faded by the morning sun.

    What way did you think of the tears?

    Thanks again

    Stephen

    • lesliepaints says:

      I equated the tears with nature and the darkness and the coolness. I don’t know if I thought of it as sad but something that cycles; but sadness and joy cycle too, don’t they? I actually was thinking of it in a nature sense, so the fact that tears are shed in joy or sadness didn’t really enter for me, but the whole picture of everything revolving and changing. I am always looking for things like this. How can there be joy without its’ opposite to compare it to?

      • Agreed! And this is one of the great things about the arts… poetry, painting, photography, song, dance etc.
        Each can speak to individuals differently. For me, this one didn’t spring from some specific event, I was just thinking about the dew on the grass and the rest came out. So I started it from a nature sense (which is how you seem to have read it, leading you to think about cycles). After writing it though, I thought more of the “tears” as joy as mentioned above then moved on to sadness. It’s interesting for me to write something and then read it and see several things in it vs writing something with a specific feeling, image, point, history, event etc in mind.

        I really agree with your last line. It applies to many things in life.

        Thanks again

  3. oinky says:

    i like this 🙂 As well as your other haikus..im trying to write haikus myself..and i really dont get the point of writing them..i mean..why do we write haikus in the first place..anyway..i really like your haikus..i hope i find answers in them 🙂

    • Oinky,
      First, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.
      I’m no expert on Haikus but they are an old form of Japanese poetry typically written about the seasons. In the USA they are typically written out in 3 lines of 5, 7, 5 syllables respectively. That being said, you’ll find lots of examples where people just put three lines and then call it a Haiku. To me, they should follow the 5, 7, 5 format as that’s how I was taught when I lived in Hawaii. Sorry if you already know that stuff. There’s actually a lot more to it than that and if you’re interested, there’s plenty of info on the web.
      For me there are several reasons I write Haikus:
      They are short and typically easy to write, handy when you want to post something but don’t have time to write a long poem or description.
      They are a great way to share an image. It’s fun when, in such a short form, you can make someone picture what you experienced or thought about.
      While I’m sometimes silly with them, like when I did the “if Yoda wrote Haikus” posts, the ones I really enjoy writing are haikus with more than one or a metaphorical / life meaning like this or ones that, to me, really build an image like here or here.
      I ramble on… hopefully this helps and you will continue to give Haikus a try. BTW, do yo uhave a blog?

      Thanks again for visiting

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

