The bend in the road – Poem – Inspired by a painting


This poem was inspired by the latest painting posted by my friend Leslie White at Lesliepaints. Leslie, thanks again for another poem inspiring painting. 

The bend in the road

thepath Painted by Leslie White

thepath Painted by Leslie White

 

I know the road less traveled
Sometimes calls us from the side
But the path that is before me calls to me 

“Increase your stride” 

There are bumps and dips in life’s trip
Sometimes it is hard to go on
The bend up ahead beckons me instead 

“Live life, push on, be strong” 

I look and I strain but it’s all in vain
So I kick up my heels and start gliding
The bend up ahead calls to me and says 

“Come on, life’s so inviting” 

Blue in the sky, clouds floating by
Trees arching up overhead
Shadows that bend, bird songs drift in 

Nature’s symphony of sound in my head 

Breeze rattles leaves, dust at my feet
I look on the ground for some sign
No foot print in sand, nor markings of hand 

Says my voice “this place could be mine” 

This bend in the road, turns out to hold
My future, my way, my goal
My face shows a grin as the thought sinks in 

“The road less traveled after all” 

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The bend in the road – Poem – Inspired by a painting

  1. lesliepaints says:

    I Love it, especially the part about “Blue in the sky, clouds floating by Trees arching up overhead” and “Breeze rattles leaves, dust at my feet”. I’m e-mailing you the picture!

  2. lesliepaints says:

    Stephen, would you get my e-mail off this comment and e-mail me your address if you’d like to post the painting for your poem.I have lost yours in the transition of my provider this month.

  3. Leslie,
    thanks again for the inspiration! I really liked that part as well because it seemed to me to capture the painting.

    Thanks for once again allowing me the honor of posting your painting on my site!

  4. harijogja says:

    is this the truth or in just hope?

  5. Harijogja,
    I’m not sure how to answer your question. This poem was inspired by the painting Leslie White did (posted at the top of the poem). I saw the painting and wrote the poem. Does it apply to my life? I’m sure in some ways it does as I’m not where I thought I would be in life. Not necessarily bad, just different than I thought.
    I hope that the painting and poem speak to people though and not just reflect me.
    Did this answer your question? If not, let me know.

    Thanks for visiting. I’ve written another poem based on another of Leslie’s paintings. You can see it here:
    https://stephenkellogg.wordpress.com/2010/04/03/the-door-and-the-tree-poem-inspired-by-a-painting/

    And you can visit Leslie’s blog here:
    http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/

    Thanks again for stopping by.

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • harijogja says:

      if u not sure its ok, but i think if we feel something interested us…
      may we have some answers for our self.. why

      • I wasn’t sure if you were asking from a literal or metaphorical standpoint. To me this was written metaphorically. While I have actually walked down paths in the woods, this was written more from a life perspective. Does it apply to me, yes, I would say it does. And in many ways, I feel I am in that bend in the road stretching to see my future etc.

        Hope this clairifies

        Thanks again

        Stephen

      • harijogja says:

        sure, thanks 🙂

Your thoughts?

