The life of a tear – Poem


Today I thought about an individual tear and decided to write a poem about its life.

The life of a tear

I am that drop in your eye
Sitting here wondering why
You’ve called for my services today
As if I’ve got something to say

Sitting here with all my friends
swirling around again
building our crescendo
and then

Over the top I spill
Down past your eyes windowsill
Clinging for a while on your lash
Knowing soon I will dash

On to your hot cheek I drip
Red from the anger that grips
Sliding my way down I go
Into the crevasse by your nose

Down past your nose that is running
On to your lip that is plumping
Other friends have been wiped aside
Face it, you finally have cried

Just let my friends follow me
We pull out the grief as we leave
I drip off your lip towards the sea
That will form at the base of your knees

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The life of a tear – Poem

  1. epicswife says:

    Wow – That is really great! I love the rhythm that you have captured here! I am not used to seeing longer things from you – but I like it !!! I think my favorite line is regarding the tear when you say : “your eyes windowsill
    Clinging for a while on your lash Knowing soon I will dash”! That is a great image and I would have never thought to describe it like that !!! Great job 🙂

  2. Mel,
    thanks for the feedback! I’ve been on a haiku kick lately because, well, they are short but can pack a punch but mostly because I don’t have much time. If you want to see some of my longer pieces, go back and look at some of the poetry piece on the link to the left. Remember, when you get to the bottom of the first page, there is a “previous entries” to get to some of my first posts.

    Thanks again for continuing to provide feedback.

    btw, that was one of my favorite parts of the poem as well… that and the line “I drip off your lip towards the sea
    That will form at the base of your knees”

Your thoughts?

