The bend up ahead – Poem based on a photo


This poem was inspired by the amazing photo my friend Mel of http://ramblinginreno.wordpress.com/ took. The photo is beautiful and is located here.

The bend up ahead

Desert road - Photo by Melanie Copeland

Desert road - Photo by Melanie Copeland

The bend up ahead
Can you feel it
It calls to you
Common, common

There’s life beyond
This desert heat
There’s life beyond…
But I can’t

Move with life
Lean to one side
The cactus don’t hide
From the sun

Flowers bloom
Through this desert heat
Paying homage
To the sun

Flowers in bloom
But on past you zoom
To life or doom
Who can say

Markers are there
Calling – careful
And the road pulls you on
Zoom zoom

The heat is so hot
I can’t carry on

Just a little more
You can make it

Don’t look at your feet
Or the road and it’s heat
Look beyond to the layers
Of Life

Don’t look at the mountains
In the far distance
They’ll fill you with angst
And strife

Just look up ahead
Set a goal in your head
Write it down
If it helps it to stay

But press on in the run
Worry not about the sun
There’s relief from its heat
Up ahead

When you can’t take anymore
And it’s life you abhor
Take a pause
And observe what is near

Glance around and you’ll find
There’s life that’s divine
Beautiful sights and sounds
Everywhere

When the road starts to bend
Your head starts to spin
And hopelessness begins
To creep in

Think of this site
And the words that I write
Set a goal
In the long run you’ll win

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The bend up ahead – Poem based on a photo

  1. epicswife says:

    Thank-you so much again for the time and passion you put into your writing!! I am very trilled that I inspire anyone and am so happy to find that others really do care, it means a lot. Your poem is just lovely and it touched my “Nevada” heart to no end!!! I love the passion in it and the positive message that comes out of the desert, since most view it as being such a dry and dead place! The mixture of life and goals and passion is beautiful and I love it so much !!! WOW – No words really for this – even though I have rambled on – but that’s what I do best right LOL 🙂 Have a great night Stephen!!!

    • Mel,
      I have a special love and appreciation for the desert as I lived in NM for a while when I was young. Your photo is really amazing. It has a great blend and the way the rock formations pop in the photo is awesome!

      Thanks for the kind words on my poetry. I’m trying to make time to get back to it, but right now there’s a ton going on… including me moving… but that’s a different story for another time 😀

      Thanks again

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. lesliepaints says:

    Wonderful journey poem, Stephen. Your poem, paired with the photo and what Mel said, reminds me so much of what the pioneers were actually doing when they chose to move west.

    • Leslie,
      Thanks for the feedback. That’s a good image of the feeling I was trying to portray in the poem. Mel’s photo (like your paintings) pulled that poem out of me 😀

      Peace,

      Stephen

  3. Pingback: Inviting Road « Rambling Redhead In Reno

Your thoughts?

