What’s your portrait say? – Poem – Inspired by a painting


This poem was inspired by a painting from my friend Leslie White at Lesliepaints. You can see the painting here Gypsy Cob or “Tinker Horse”

 Thanks Leslie for another poem inspiring painting… 

What’s your portrait say?

gypsymare Painted by Leslie White

Thanks Leslie for the wonderful, poem inspiring painting

Bold
Beautiful
Strong
Full of grace 

You stare at my lines
While I pace
Hair a tassel
Whites and grays 

You marvel my form
Gaze at my face
Wonder my history
Ponder my fate 

As you wait to see
If my movement
Takes me
Off the page 

Gypsy Cob or
Tinker horse
Other names
of course of course 

Vardos puller by trade
Captured here on this page
Holding head high in deed
As he represents his breed 

What’s to be said of you
Of how you ran your race
Bold
Beautiful
Strong
Full of Grace? 

Stephen Kellogg – 2010 

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s your portrait say? – Poem – Inspired by a painting

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Hey, Stephen, this is great! I love it that you wrote poetry about a horse as I am a horse lover from way back. Love that “Vardos puller by trade” and “other names of course of course”. Will e-mail you the image so you can post it if you would like. Thank-you!

  2. Pingback: Gypsy Cob or “Tinker Horse” « Leslie White

  3. Leslie,
    I was going back through these as Yousei has been commenting on them. I just realized that I never responded to these comments from you, but as always.. Thanks for your inspiring works of art and your feedback.

    Peace,

    Stephen

Your thoughts?

