Mornin’ – Poem


Another one from college:

Mornin’

Thunder cracks mornin’ sky
as I wake up
vigor and spry
Time to milk ol’ Bess again
time to feed
chickens and hens

Collect the eggs
back again
to mom, dad
fire in den

Dad skims milk
Mom cracks eggs
Sis’ comes in
feedin’ horses hay

Gather round table
bow heads to pray
shovel down good eatin’s
so starts another day

Stephen Kellogg – 1992

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mornin’ – Poem

  1. The Suzz says:

    i spent about three years now in the South, so i like the farm imagery. man, i could go for some “good eatin’s” right about now. :] good poem.

    • Thanks! I hope you have some time to view some more of my work… Thanks for the feedback.. “good eatin’s” does sound good!

      Thanks for stopping by

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. lesliepaints says:

    This makes me homesick for the farm. I loved both mornings and evenings in the barn listening to my horses munch their hay and the goats rustle in their bedding. Wonderful poem, Stephen.

    • Leslie,
      Glad I could bring back some good memories. Finding this old poem now seem apropos with my current life adventure 🙂
      As always, thanks for the feedback.

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

