Alive on this park bench – Poem – inspired by a painting


This poem was inspired by a painting from my friend Leslie White at Lesliepaints. You can see the painting here.  

Alive on this park bench

waiting - Painted by Leslie White

waiting - Painted by Leslie White

Here I sit on this park bench
Warmed by the sun
Drifting off in to dreams of yesteryear
If only you knew
As you walk by shaking your head
If only you’d seen me then
Young, strong,
Commanding the deck of my ship

Ah, the rise and fall on swells
The sun poking it’s nose over the horizon
Calling me to sail yet again
To awaiting islands
Out stretched arms
White beaches with maidens fair

Stop pecking at my feet
I’m there now
Don’t wake me yet
I’ll come back to pull more seed
out of the sack in my jacket
Give me a little more time to ride

Larger swells
Breaking over the bow now
Manning the helm as the ship dives again
Shuddering as she pulls through another wave
Exhilaration, mixed with a hint of fear
I’m alive

Wait little birdies
Be patient a bit longer
While I linger here in mother ocean’s arms
Swaying gently now
Kissing my face with her refreshing mist
Give me another minute to enjoy

I’ll come back to this life
With stiff legs
A little drool working its way through my beard
Wrist sore from supporting my head
And I’ll smile

Smile for the knowing of what was
But more so for what is
Again, surrounded by nature
I am on a different ride
Giving  back this time
And you my feathered friends
Remind me of life
Friendship, love
I’m alive

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Alive on this park bench – Poem – inspired by a painting

  1. lesliepaints says:

    This is a lovely. You know? I envisioned him as a fisherman so that is really cool because many viewed him as homeless. I also like it that he is having a conversation with the birds.

    • Leslie,
      Thanks! Maybe it’s the time I spent on the ocean while in the Coast Guard, but he really looks like a fisherman / sea going type to me. Thanks for another inspiring painting!

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. Derrick says:

    Hey there Stephen – let me know on my blog where you want me to send Officer’s Quarters to!

    thx!

  3. Yousei Hime says:

    Is waiting for someone a theme in your writing? Or is that you are drawn to that aspect in Leslie’s paintings? Or is simply creative serendipity? 😉

  4. Yousei,
    I’m glad you’ve taken the time to look through more of these painting inspired poems. Basically, I go to Leslie’s site and look at the paintings. Typically, I get a feeling at first glance that there’s a poem for the painting. I’m sure that in many ways, the painting touches something from my past that wants expressing. In this case, I spent four years in the Coast Guard. There’s something in this photo that says “seafarer” and that grabbed me. If you keep exploring, I think you’ll find more in my writing than just waiting for someone :).

    Thanks for all the feedback.

    Peace,

    Stephen

Your thoughts?

