An evening on the beach – Haiku


An evening on the beach

Breaking waves rumble
Moon beams highlight shouldered curls
Toes connect in sand

Stephen Kellogg – 2010

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An evening on the beach – Haiku

  1. lesliepaints says:

    You captured the experience of the beach so well in so few words with this. I love that “shouldered curls” in reference to the light falling on the waves!

  2. Leslie,
    Thanks! When I first wrote this, I was thinking about a couple standing together on the beach so the “shouldered curls” was an attempt to capture softly curled hair, laying on a shoulder, being highlighted by the moon. They are holding each other which is why their “toes connect” in sand.

    After I read it again prior to posting it, I wondered how it would all be interpreted. Thanks for letting me know, I like the way you read it πŸ˜€

    Peace,

    Stephen

  3. Heart says:

    Oh man, I was imagining big boulders or rocks for shouldered curls.. But after reading your interpretations, I like them better.. πŸ™‚ Sometimes, I just need to take that big rock sitting in my brain to see things clearly.. πŸ˜‰
    How have you been Mr.?

  4. Rachanna,
    Some of the fun of poetry is that we don’t all see the same thing. Thanks for sharing what you thought of when you read “shouldered curls”
    I’ve been… busy… but what else is new. Seems we all are these days. I’m actually a bit frustrated as I’ve written part of another “scene” but haven’t had time to actually finish it. Hope to post it soon.

    Hope you and your family are well! As always, thanks for leaving feedback!

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • Heart says:

      Oh man, it is tough than having the writer’s block!! I understand, totally get it, trust me πŸ™‚ I am struggling to meet my commitments too most days, so hang in there.. And take it easy!
      Rachana.

      • Rachana,
        You hit it with the second part of your comment. It’s just been a lack of time. Once I was able to get the time to sit down and write, the rest of what I was working on came out.

        Thanks for the encouragement!!

        Peace,

        Stephen

  5. Scent of my heart says:

    Toes connect on sand … How much I want my toes to be connected to sand right now .. instead of the cold and the snow … very nice Stephen. Hope you’re doing ok!

Your thoughts?

