Full Moon Dance – Haiku(s) – Poem


I saw the full moon last night and came up with the first haiku. It rolled around in my head all day today and when I went to finally write it down, the rest of the poem came out. This is a poem made up of haikus… its fun, you should try it.

Full Moon Dance

Beautiful full moon
Hanging low in the night sky
Amazing wonder

My eyes are glued there
While I stare at her beauty
Making my face smile

Clouds slowly drifting
Weaving through them gracefully
Your moon beam shines on

Shuffling my feet
Moving to your subtle beat
Slow circles I make

Across the country
She stands admiring you
Watching as you move

She begins to sway
Slow twirls, skirt filling out
She moves to your grace

Apart though we are
Our ritual has begun
Full moon serenade

Together we meet
Dancing to your full moon tune
Connected by you

Stephen Kellogg – 2011

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku, love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Full Moon Dance – Haiku(s) – Poem

  1. Bodhirose says:

    This was beautifully done. I love haiku and you put them all together here to make a wonderfully romantic poem.

  2. Gayle,
    Thanks for the comment. I too enjoy writing and reading haikus. It’s a fun challenge to write haikus into a full poem. I’ve got another one you can view here https://stephenkellogg.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/so-where-do-i-land-haikus-poem/

    Thanks again for stopping by and even more for giving feedback.

    Peace,

    Stephen

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Hi stranger. You saw that moon I missed, too! This is beautiful. My favorite section is the one about shuffling feet to the beat making slow circles.

  4. Leslie,
    Thanks for the feedback. Sorry you missed it, it was truly beautiful. I have a hunch that there’ll be more though 😉 so I hope you catch it next time. Things have been really hectic lately (like the last 3 months 😀 ) so I haven’t been around these here parts much. I hope to get back to it though. I have a question about your tiger face posting but I’ll e-mail you directly. It might not be tonight, but sometime soon. Thanks again for your feedback, it’s very encouraging.

    Peace,

    Stephen

  5. “Full moon serenade” . . . very nice.

    • HC,
      It’s always a wonderful surprise when someone comments on an older post. Thanks so much for taking the time to peruse my writing. I really liked that line too so I appreciate you pointing it out.

      Thanks!

      Stephen

  6. Pingback: Mondy Moon Post: Moon Dance | Ever More The Clever

Your thoughts?

