Saturday Grill Out (as told through 44 haikus :D)


Saturday Grill Out (as told through 44 haikus :D)

It all started with a phone call last Thursday and ended with me, Sunday, sitting on my deck thinking about the fun I had during the Saturday grill out at my new place. I haven’t posted to WordPress since I’ve moved into the new house (been about a month ago) so I brought out a new composition book, a pen and a cup of coffee onto the porch with me.  It wasn’t long before the brain started churning, the pen was in hand and I had christened the new book with the first ink spots in the form of this haiku:

Happy little fly
Buzzing around my dinner
Move along, it’s mine

I then decided to tell the whole story through haikus and here’s what I came up with… hope you enjoy:

Saturday Grill Out

Phone call on Thursday
Suggest my new place instead
Bro agreed, he’d call

Friday it’s confirmed
Two bros, their sig’s, ma and pa
Saturday, my place

Friday night home late
No time to prep, off to bed
Will tackle on Sat.

Up in the morning
Eggs and toast to start the day
Will Irene dump rain?

Soccer practice off
She dumped some wind and rain here
I can use the time

Menu is shifting
Fish, Burgers, Pork Tenderloin?
Sit and make a list

Shopping list finished
Time to start some loads, laundry
and dishes a must

Off to check the rooms
Thanks kids, Just as expected
No real work to do

Wish you guys were here
Hope your weekend there is great
I love you bunches

Throw on shirt and shoes
It’s off to do the shopping
Don’t forget the list

Here comes the meat isle
Time to make a decision
And Brisket wins out

Shopping now complete
Back home to fire up the grill
Times slipping by fast

Briquettes stacked just so
Oh, where did the matches go
Make these briquettes glow

Grab Hickory Chips
A few on dry, the rest soak
Wonder to the nose

Hot coals burn orange
Open your mouth the meat’s here
Will slow cook for hours

Brisket on the grill
Smoke and sizzle fill nose, ears
Smile quickly spreading

15 min go by
Drain the chips, wrap in tinfoil
On the coals they go

Grab the bag of spuds
Clean, cut and put them in pots
Home made mashed yummies

Mix-up homemade bread
It’s easier than you think
Will add beer later

Time drifts slowly by
Move spuds to iron skillet
Time to flavor them

Big chunks of butter
Huge dollops of sour cream
Basil, salt, garlic

Add bear to bread mix
Put dough into pre-greased pans
Pop in the oven

Meal almost ready
Brisket off the grill and cut
Veggies on stove next

Folks arriving now
Tour of the new place begins
oohs’s and aah’s abound

Grab the bowl and chips
Put out salsa and bean dip
The first round is served

Bro John and Jan show
Jan brought baked beans and choc cake
Awesome as always

Bro Chris and Mel come
Mel and I already met
Now she meets more fam

I like her a lot
Think she’s a great match for Chris
They seem a good fit

Folks lounge on the deck
Ceiling fan moves the warm air
Built in benches full

Bread and veggies done
Dirty mashed potatoes too
It’s time for good eats

Drinks are all refilled
Don’t forget moms fruit salad
Let’s all eat outside

Stories continued
As conversations resumed
All sorts of topics

We covered the world
Alaska to New Zealand
Afghanistan too

We hit Germany
Australia, Michigan
And Colorado

Boats, oceans and more
Friends, relatives and weddings
Old and new alike

Much food was consumed
Compliments made all around
Unwelcomed bugs show

Happy little fly
Buzzing around my dinner
Move along, it’s mine

Clear off the table
Put the food into the fridge
Dishes in the sink

Fat, dumb and happy
Bro John and I take orders
Cake and ice cream served

The party winds down
Hugs and kisses all around
As folks start to leave

Everyone now gone
I grab another cold drink
Head back to the deck

Enjoying the breeze
Singing with Diana Krall
Wishing she was here

The night a success
Looking forward to the next
For now, sleep calls me

Time to wrap the night
First of many gatherings
Great new house. Success!

Stephen Kellogg – 2011

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saturday Grill Out (as told through 44 haikus :D)

  1. lesliepaints says:

    What a wonderful family gathering set down forever in haiku, now. I have to say I really like the fly one that started it all.

    • Leslie,
      Thanks! I really like that one too. Doing it again tomorrow. The kids and I have all invited friends over, doing another brisket some burgers and hotdogs. This time I’m going to make a black bean dip and salsa dip. Also doing veggies and dirty potatoes again. Going to try to add some desserts with a peach cobler and some lemon bars.

      Hope you have a great labor day!

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. Epics Wife says:

    Oh I love these!!! So creative 🙂 Great job !!!

  3. Mel,
    Thanks! I hope to be getting on more soon. I still don’t have “real” internet here at the new place but hope to soon. Hope things are going well on your end.

    Peace,

    Stephen

  4. Emily Lewin says:

    Uncle Stephen these are so fun! Great job! I feel like I was there, and since I know (almost) everyone I can picture just what it looked like. 🙂 I’ll have to come get an intro to your new house too! Hope you’re doing well. Love you!

  5. Emily,
    Thanks for the feedback and sorry for the slow reply. Let me know next time you’re in town, I’d love to have you over and show you the place…

    Peace,

    Uncle Stephen

  6. Pingback: A view from the back deck – photo « Stephen Kellogg's Blog

  7. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your
    next write ups thanks once again.

Your thoughts?

