Novel update


Hello all,

For those that have followed my blog for a bit, you know that occasionally I mention that one day I want to write a novel. Some of you have encouraged me to pursue it. Well, this month I started. As hinted to in earlier posts, I heard about a thing called National Novel Writers Month (NaNoWriMo for short). Toward the end of October, I saw a calendar that someone on WP created for tracking her progress during NaNoWriMo. I read her blog and learned more about it then I hit the site http://www.nanowrimo.org and was hooked.

Basically, you spend the month of November writing on a new novel. The main goal for the month is to write 1667 words a day toward your novel which has you reach a goal of 50,000 words in a month. Everyone who writes 50K or more is considered a winner of NaNoWriMo 2011. I decided the time was now so I dove in. I also decided to set my goal to be 60K words for the month. I did this for two main reasons.

1) I figured if I shot for 60K but fell short a little bit, I would still make the site goal of 50k.

2) 60K worked out to an even 2K words a day which made it much easier for me to track. Multiply the day of the month I’m on times two thousand and that’s where I  should be on your word count.

So in case you didn’t figure it out with my last post, as of last Sunday night, I hit my 60K goal. Very exciting! Now I’ve got to keep it going as I think I”m only about half way through the book.

 

So there you have it. I’ve finally taken the leap and started a novel! It’s been a lot of fun and… it continues.

 

Thanks to those who have given support and to those that will continue to do so 😀

I hope to be creating / posting more poetry soon, but this novel will likely consume most of my writing time for a while. I’ll keep you posted!

 

Peace.

 

Stephen

 

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Novel update

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Wow! Great! Clapping! This is great news, Stephen. I admire anyone who can create with words. I thought you had been working on a novel all along. Good fortune and Happy Writing, my friend. 🙂

  2. Leslie,
    Thanks!! I’m very excited and happy with what I was able to finish in November, but have a long ways to go with it as I don’t think I’ve hit the halfway point in the story yet. Then there’s the editing (of which I’ve done just a little bit).

    I plan on giving occasional updates on my progress here and to get back to writing some poetry again. Guess I need to hit your site soon for more inspiration 😀

    Peace,

    Stephen

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    NaNo is always just a start. This year I didn’t finish, but I also made progress and have paved the way for a goodie to be completed after the new year.

    Glad to see you enjoyed yourself and that it was a productive experience for you. Hooray!

    Keep on writing. 😉

    • Jamie,
      Nice to meet a fellow NaNoer… I’ve slowed down the past couple of weeks but have just set a goal to have the novel at 100k by 03Jan12. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

