From Pizza to Minecraft… ain’t poetry grand – Haiku(s) – NaPoWriMo Day 8


So as sometimes happens when I’m standing around waiting etc, a few words started tumbling around in my head. A couple of days ago I was standing at Little Caesar’s Pizza waiting for some Hot and Ready piazzas to be ready (hey don’t judge me, I stayed within my calorie count – and I’m down 15 lbs in 5 weeks). The words kept thumping and bumping around in my head when I got home, so I sat in front of the computer and came up with this haiku.

I need a cheese, pep,
And a sausage pizza please
Tummy rumbles now

I was hungry and tummy actually rumbled while I stood there waiting…

So, my older son was sitting by, somewhat patiently, waiting and watching as I produced the haiku… when I was finished, he reached over to the keyboard and typed up the following:

Want to play Minecraft
I must edit my cool map
Will you let me on?

I mean hey.. how to make a papa proud especially during National Poetry Month and he even followed the 5-7-5.

What else could I do? I hit save, closed the document, congratulated him on a haiku well done, pushed back my chair and relinquished the laptop 😀

 

Peace,

Stephen

 

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Pizza to Minecraft… ain’t poetry grand – Haiku(s) – NaPoWriMo Day 8

  1. sonofwalt says:

    haha, smart kid! Proud dad. I love it.

Your thoughts?

