Jimmy Valvano’s ESPY speech 1993 (amazing and inspiring) – Acrostics – NaPoWriMo Day 14


Jimmy Valvano’s ESPY speech 1993 (amazing and inspiring) – Acrostics – NaPoWriMo Day 14

I wasn’t sure what I was going to write on for NaPoWriMo Day 14. Then I was moved. A friend on Facebook, who also does great photography (website here: http://www.steinhauserphotography.com/ ) posted a link to a great speech given by the late Jimmy Valvano. It is WELL worth the 11:16 minutes of time it takes to watch it. I’ve pulled out some of the great encouraging and motivational lines from the speech and put them into acrostics. I encourage you (even if it means not reading the acrostics) to go watch the speech Jimmy’s 1993 ESPY Speech. I hope these acrostics do justice to the man and his passion. RIP Jimmy and thank you for your passion, heart, encouragement and taking the time to voice it!

Things in quotes below are taken from Jimmy Valvano’s speech. I’ve put in bold the words I pulled out for the acrostics.

The V Foundation for Cancer Research’s motto is:

“Don’t give up, don’t ever give up”

Determined
Ongoing
Necessary
Thought

Guiding
Inventions
Vital
Exploration

Undergirding
People

Donations
Offering
Needed
Treatment

Emotional
Verve
Encouraging
Research

Giving
Intense
Vital
Energy

Unending
Promise

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

“How do you get through life?

There are three things we all should do every day

Laugh
Think
Have your emotions moved to tears

Think about it if you laugh you think you cry, that’s a full day”

“Keep your dreams alive”

Laugh, Think, Emotions

Live
Always
Using
Gifts
Heart

Thought
Hope
Ideas
Needs
Knowledge

Enthusiasm
Mind
Overcoming
Tenacity
Insights
Observations
Nurturing
Soul

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

In talking about his family he said

“We hug we kiss we love”

Wonderful
Energy

Healing
Using
Gestures

Welcomed
Expressions

Keeping
Intense
Sacred
Souls

Warm
Embrace

Letting
One’s
Voice
Elaborate

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

“What’s important in life

Where you started
Where you are
Where you’re going to be”

“How do go from where you are to where you want to be
You have to have an enthusiasm for life
You have to have a dream
A goal
You have to be willing to work for it”

“Enthusiasm for Life”

Emotions
Necessary
Thoughtful
Heart
Understanding
Soul
Inspirational
Amazing
Started
Meaningful

Foundation
Offering
Research

Living
Institute
Fighting
Evermore

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

Cancer can take away all my physical abilities
It cannot touch my Mind
It cannot touch my Heart
and it cannot touch my Soul
And those three things are going to carry on forever”

Cancer
Mind, Heart, Soul

Cannot
Annul
Never
Cancel
Eternal
Reality

My
Internal
Needs
Demand

Happiness
Emotional
Aptitude
Realistic
Thought

Supporting
Others
Understanding
Love

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

If you have the ability, and your heart guides you, please visit www.jimmyv.org and consider donating. The blog is here http://www.jimmyv.org/blog/.

Peace,

Stephen

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Acrostic, Poetry, Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jimmy Valvano’s ESPY speech 1993 (amazing and inspiring) – Acrostics – NaPoWriMo Day 14

  1. deelaytful says:

    Interesting thing you’re doing with poetry here, creating lines from the letters of the title. Why don’t you consider making a whole series out of this? 🙂

    • Riley,
      Thanks for the feedback. I actually have several acrostics some based on title, some are just straight A through Z.
      Take a look by clicking on “acrostic” under categories or in the tag cloud on the left of my blog.
      PS… your name link points to your old blog, don’t know if that’s intentional or not but thought I’d let you know.

      Peace,

      Stephen

      • deelaytful says:

        Alright I’ll check it out. Thank you for pointing that out — no it’s not intentional, I just don’t know how to change it. Would you happen to know how?

        Rye.

      • Riley,
        On the Dashboard menu near the bottom click on USERS, PERSONAL SETTINGS
        Near the bottom of that page Under ACCOUNT DETAILS is “Website”

        I am pretty sure that’s where you change it.

        Hope that helps,

        Stephen

      • deelaytful says:

        Got it. Many thanks!

        I’m reading your other works now. Really great! Following you. 🙂

      • Riley,
        Glad I could help… and yes 😀 it worked!
        I hope you find other poems etc. that you enjoy, relate to, make you laugh, encourage you or at least make you think. If so, comments are greatly appreciated.

        Peace,

        Stephen

Your thoughts?

