Thai Heritage Month and Soy Food Month – Poem – Day 16


I was given a challenge from a friend (ok not really, but I took it that way 🙂 ) in one of the comments on his blog about all the “National Months” here. But, I’ll let the poem explain the rest…

Thai Heritage Month and Soy Food Month – Poem – Day 16

I’ve been given a poetry challenge
It’s one I think I can do

It’s Thai Heritage month
And National Soy food Month too

The challenge, write a poem
I think it might be fun

One poem combining the two thoughts
And then I will be done

I searched the world over
Cause I’m hungry, yes it’s true

I searched the world over
Cause not any food will do

It just so happens ladies
why, it’s true gentlemen

It’s Thai Heritage month
In the USA again

So I’ve searched the world over
OK just my little town

Not 1, 2, 3 or 4 restaurants
But 5 serving Thai, I found

I searched my valued sources
Google results made me grin

Of course Thai food has soy
Soy sauces my friend

Soy sauces they have many
ซอสถั่วเหลือง I think it’s called

And when I saw so many
I nearly had to bawl

We have but one main flavor
One type or so it seems

But Thai has many options
Dark and light and in between

The dark soy sauce sounds yummy
si-io dam is its name

The light soy sauce or si-lo khao
I’ll bet is good on game

So now I’ve covered both thoughts
I hope you see it too

It’s made me grow quite hungry
So I’m off to eat, are you

But wait I have a question
And this is how it goes

Cause if you answer yes
Then another month I’ve closed

I hope you found this funny
Please say yes, if you do

Cause if you found it funny
I’ve covered  Humor Month too

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

PS
Yes… apparently April is also, among many other things, Humor Month as well. 🙂
Oh, and I love the tags for this post 😀
Thanks for the challenge David, it was fun. Think you can film one (or at least part of) your readings upside down and make it fit a poem? It could be you, a photo or video footage. Or, film one in black and white only and make it fit. The gauntlet has been thrown 😉

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thai Heritage Month and Soy Food Month – Poem – Day 16

  1. sonofwalt says:

    Oh god! I should have realized humor month too. lol Nicely done, comrade, well played. Well played.

    Upside down? I am sure I can do that… I think. Gimme time, gimme time… hmmmm

    • David,
      🙂 Thanks! I look forward to seeing your upcoming readings. Thanks again for the challenge (even if unintentional), it was fun. You can do it I’m sure…

      Peace,

      Stephen

      • sonofwalt says:

        I have a reading of “If Everything Happens That Can’t Be Done” by E. E. Cummings in which I spin around slowly and change colors during the reading. So I am sure I can think of something… Here is the link. It was during a time when I was getting a lot of dislikes from youtube trolls: http://youtu.be/JzzUHLDV2_8

      • David,
        That was fun… and gives me great confidence that you’ll figure something out… Hey.. if the trolls don’t like it, they can click off as soon as they figure it out… oh.. forgot click like.. I’ll go do that now 😀

        Peace,

        Stephen

      • sonofwalt says:

        haha, nice. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. jymiely says:

    this is funny! i don’t know which part is it, but i enjoyed this stephen 😉

    (growling stomach)…errr need to eat now 😉

  3. chris says:

    Three cheers for coming up with a poem combining these two seemingly very disparate prompts. And another three for using the Thai script in your poem. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m hungry for some reason…

    • Chris,
      Thanks for dropping in and especially for leaving a comment. I had fun with this poem. If you’re into more serious poems, take a look around, you’ll find them here as well.

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

