NaPoWriMo Family night style (with Haiku’s) – NaPoWriMo Day 22


So tonight the kids and I celebrated National Poetry Month. We all wrote three haikus and then read them to each other. This was great fun for me and I think the kids enjoyed it too. Haikus are not terribly tough and they wrote some fun and cute ones.

With permission from the kids, here they are.

In celebration of National Poetry Month

NaPoWriMo Family night!

Tonight let’s have fun
Celebrating Poetry
It’s NaPoWriMo

April is time for
National Poetry Month
Let’s write poetry

Then we can all share
What it is we have written
Reading them out loud

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

 

I’m tired

I am really tired
I think it’s cause I’m sunburned
A nap would be nice

Dad

My dad is awesome
He is really really cool
I love him a bunch

Siblings

This is my haiku
It’s about my siblings
They’re the very best

Much later he picked up the book and wrote this one

I’m bored

I am really bored
So I’m writing a haiku
Isn’t it so great?

J.E.K. – 2012

Tonight’s Doings

Very good dinner
Cheese, Chili beans, Hamburger
Make me go OmNom!

Now, after dinner
I need to write 3 haikus
For NaPoWriMo

But Crysis is on
And someone is playing it
I am distracted

S.I.K. – 2012

Race

Running in a blur
I am racing to the end
I’m almost finished

School

Sitting and staring
Waiting for the ending bell
When is class over?

Gaming

Adrenaline rush
I know I can win this time
Crap gotta respawn

M.R.K. – 2012

This was tons of fun
Especially for proud pops!
Poetry fam fun!

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

Maybe next time we’ll tackle a three stanza poem each 😀 Happy NaPoWriMo to you and your family and friends!

 

Peace,

Stephen

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaPoWriMo Family night style (with Haiku’s) – NaPoWriMo Day 22

  1. What a brilliant idea Stephen ~ Im loving every post! Thanks ~D

    • Deborah,
      Thanks! Lessoned learned on my part. I initially approached this with a here’s what we’re doing and here’s your part… and got some kickback on “this sounds too much like a school assignment” 😀
      So, I quickly switched it to:
      Here’s what I’d like us to do, you can participate or not…. But I would really like it if you would 😀
      In the end, that softened them up enough and they all decided to do it. I think it went over well and it’s something I’ll try to work in once or twice a month.
      Thanks for the continued feedback!

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

