NaPoWriMo Family Night (with Haikus) – NaPoWriMo Day 22


So tonight the kids and I celebrated National Poetry Month. We all wrote three haikus and then read them to each other. This was great fun for me and I think the kids enjoyed it too. Haikus are not terribly tough and they wrote some fun and cute ones.

With permission from the kids, here they are.

In celebration of National Poetry Month

NaPoWriMo Family Night

Tonight let’s have fun
Celebrating Poetry
It’s NaPoWriMo

April is time for
National Poetry Month
Let’s write poetry

Then we can all share
What it is we have written
Reading them out loud

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

 

I’m tired

I am really tired
I think it’s cause I’m sunburned
A nap would be nice

Dad

My dad is awesome
He is really really cool
I love him a bunch

Siblings

This is my haiku
It’s about my siblings
They’re the very best

Much later he picked up the book and wrote this one

I’m bored

I am really bored
So I’m writing a haiku
Isn’t it so great?

J.E.K. – 2012

Tonight’s Doings

Very good dinner
Cheese, Chili beans, Hamburger
Make me go OmNom!

Now, after dinner
I need to write 3 haikus
For NaPoWriMo

But Crysis is on
And someone is playing it
I am distracted

S.I.K. – 2012

Race

Running in a blur
I am racing to the end
I’m almost finished

School

Sitting and staring
Waiting for the ending bell
When is class over?

Gaming

Adrenaline rush
I know I can win this time
Crap gotta respawn

M.R.K. – 2012

This was tons of fun
Especially for proud pops!
Poetry fam fun!

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

Maybe next time we’ll tackle a three stanza poem each 😀 Happy NaPoWriMo to you and your family and friends!

 

Peace,

Stephen

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NaPoWriMo Family Night (with Haikus) – NaPoWriMo Day 22

  1. jmeandme says:

    Thanks so much for all of your sweet poems~so nice~!

  2. sonofwalt says:

    Ha! Fun stuff! Maybe I can get my guys to do this before the month’s end. Several of these (gaming I loved!) really had a knack for that culmination in the final line. But I gotta tell ya, my favorite one, the one that made me go “awww” was “Dad.”

    You know, probably like you, I was worried that my kids would be bored with our celebration in the park, guitar, chalk and poetry… BUT when they left, they all lingered in their goodbyes, and my oldest even hugged me twice and said, “That was really a lot of fun.” Poetry really does have some magic in it, doesn’t it? 🙂

    • David,
      I’ve decided that I want to continue doing something like this once or twice a month. Not sure what all we’ll do but hopefully we’ll have fun and they’ll continue to build on their appreciation of writing and reading poetry.
      I enjoyed them all but “Dad” got to me too 😀

      Peace,

      Stephen

      • sonofwalt says:

        Kids being creative is always wonderful. My youngest writes stories, and the middle guy plays guitar. The oldest works with local theater plays. It probably helps that we are all a little crazy.

      • David,
        It is wonderful! My oldest plays the guitar and is an artist. It’s great because she’s been teaching the boys to play guitar as well. My middle guy plays the violin and my youngest plays the viola and will be taking saxophone next year which is fun because that’s on my list of things to learn. They all love to sing as well. It’s great fun to get them all around the fire pit out back playing and singing.
        Wow, I feel like I just pulled out my wallet and said.. look, look see the pretty pictures of my babies 😀
        But too bad, y’all will have to deal with it … I’m a proud dad so you get to hear it. And yes, I think it does help to be a little crazy …

        Stephen

      • sonofwalt says:

        I LOVE proud dad talk. My boys all sing as well. The youngest is trying some guitar because, of all things, he wants to play banjo. The oldest plays guitar as well, and is trying the ukulele. It’s awesome sitting around with them and their friends, playing like that.

Your thoughts?

