Left Exiled and Drifting for Love – Double Triolet with a final couplet in refrain


I was reading on fellow poet K. McGee’s blog and really enjoying her “Double Triolet with a final couplet in refrain” poems. She has inspired me to try one and so this is written in an attempt to express as the “other half” of the story in response to her post Self Exiled and Fishing for Love. Thank you K. for the inspiration!

Left Exiled and Drifting for Love

You cast the lines into the sea
With the splash I wonder.
In my death will I be free?
You cast the lines into the sea.
A painful death you’ve left for me
An empty knot of hunger.
You cast the lines into the sea
With the splash I wonder.

You ran from me. I let you flee.
Our parting ways – we blunder.
I did not beg. You could not see.
You ran from me. I let you flee.
Left drifting here upon the sea
Our love’s been torn asunder.
You ran from me. I let you flee.
Our parting ways – we blunder.

You cast the lines into the sea
With the splash I wonder.

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Left Exiled and Drifting for Love – Double Triolet with a final couplet in refrain

  1. K. McGee says:

    Oh I just love the mirrored perspective! A perfect response to the poem. I love how you also mirrored the wander of one with the wonder of another, which shows how a single action affects each differently. Very fascinating.

    I apologize for the pingback not working. I’ll turn them on by chance there be any future collaborations.

    • K.
      OK I’m a bit relieved you liked it 😀
      Never know how folks will respond. No worries on the ping back.
      Did you notice the switch up on the title.

      If you’re up for it, I may take a stab at a response to your other one as well, though it may be a bit tougher. Maybe I’ll get to it tonight or tomorrow if I can swing the time.

      Thanks again for the inspiration!

      Stephen

  2. sonofwalt says:

    I like this a lot. Soooo good to be reading your stuff again.

  3. Pingback: Stay fast, and do not sway – Double Triolet with a final couplet in refrain « Stephen Kellogg's Blog

  4. Oh, and this is a form I have just recently discovered and adore! I have several duets on here with my friend Noel and others–I love the spark creatively and generatively passed between poets electronically. Would not have been possible before the internet. Sigh.

    • Susan,
      I agree! And not just with poets. Along with poetry, I’ve been inspired here by photos, paintings and even comments left here and there. It also allows for sharing those collaborations with others which is awesome! Hopefully more people will be pulled into poetry and it can climb back up a bit in exposure and appreciation.

      • I think the internet/sharing capacity has so opened up our creative worlds–I think it will lead to a new demand for and appreciation of all creative expression, including poetry.

Your thoughts?

