My Garden, Me – Poem (with video and reading)


Today I had the wonderful experience of cutting up squash, zucchini and jalapeños and mixing them up into a first attempt at a squash, zucchini type soup. I also went out and picked some tomatoes as well and created a delicious tomato, jalapeño and cheese omelet for brunch. The best part about all this is that all these veggies came from my garden. It’s awesome to go hang in the garden, pick stuff and then put them to use.

Poem below the video if you just want to read the words without watching the video and hearing me read them.

 

My Garden, Me

Stand there if you must
At the edge of my garden
Peering in, poking nose around
Ducking head, sliding left and right
Looking for veggies hanging here
Tucked in under there

Better yet,
Step in
Take a stride through
Make shift paths will welcome you
Wander here and there
Stand, sit or move around
The ground is welcoming

If so inclined, pull a weed or two
Or just sit in the stew of life
Absorbing sights, sounds
Colors dancing round
Smells of earth and plant

See something you like
Think it’s ready to leave
Reach out your hand
It’s yours to take
Don’t hesitate if it’s the last one
There will be more with tomorrow’s sun

Reading this during the winter
Crops all dead and gone
Fear not
There’s life brewing underground

Have I moved on
Not where you sought
Find me,
You’ll find a garden plot

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Garden, Me – Poem (with video and reading)

  1. sonofwalt says:

    Nicely done! And wonderful to hear you read. I love the welcoming ground and the life brewing underneath, even in winter.

    • David,
      Thanks! I enjoy it but the video process (as you well know) can take a LOT of time… Even just messing around with photos and not shooting video. Yesterday I signed up with Soundcloud and might just do some readings and music with just sound (i.e. no video to mess with). Not sure how that’ll go over, but y’all can let me know when I start putting some of them up 😀

      Peace,

      Stephen

      • sonofwalt says:

        Yes, I have thought of that too. I don’t always care for my face in the midst of the production, which is why I was getting away from as much of that some times, but maybe just some voice would be cool.

      • I do think it is a potential trap with youtube that hey “it’s supposed to be video”… I could just place a static image behind the audio, but somehow I feel obligated to make it more dynamic. Another thought is that with voice only the listener can sit back, close thier eyes and build their own images.

      • sonofwalt says:

        I’ve seen the static image thing too. I like the idea of simple audio on a post, especially if the text is there to read. It would be very much like the videos I have done that have the the words scroll by, only it would be easier, and a little more like reading the old fashioned way, than like this: http://youtu.be/CPimRY9ZC0A

        Not that the video is bad, but as you said, there is a lot of work that goes into that image, whereas I have seen some very effective renderings of the sort you talk about that work very well, and have an old fashioned appeal and integrity that I like very much. This one by ManicD is a great example. See what you think: http://manicddaily.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/flag-after-vietnam-a-villanelle-spoken/

  2. Ian Moone says:

    rally good stuff

  3. What a beautiful invitation to your paradise in photo, beautiful language and dream-like landscape ! Sincerely Deborah

  4. K. McGee says:

    The summer heat has taken such a toll on my garden. It was a joy to hear you read of yours as it reminded me that when fall arrives and the air turns on her morning chill, that brocolli and cabbage heads will soon repopulate the arid space that the sun has left behind.

    • K,
      My garden has also taken a pounding with the heat as well… I’ve never grown broccoli or cabbage, might have to give that a try one of these years. Thanks for actually listening and not just reading the poem 🙂

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

