My children are like flowers – Poem (A dads warning to would be “daters”)


I was looking through some photos of flowers around my house. I got to thinking about my kids and so I wrote the poem to anyone out there that wants to date any of my kids.
My children are like flowers – Poem (A dads warning to would be “daters”)

My children are like flowers

My children are like flowers
That grow within my yard
And gentle will the hands need be
That come to take their hearts

For if you come in harshly
And snap them from their stems
Your outlook, yes your future
I’m afraid will be quite dim

For dads like me are out there
And yes, moms are too
We don’t take to kindly
To snapping flower fools

If you want to take them with you
Then get on your hands and knees
Help me dig them gently
From my hearts garden please

Cause if you come in quickly
Try to snatch them by the stem
You’ll find that I am right there
And I won’t have on a grin

I’ll likely have a shotgun
And a mad uncle or two
Their mom won’t sit there idly
She’ll be rushing at you fool

You’ll have grandparents from both sides
Aunts and siblings too
You’ll be wishing that you had died
A wish that may come true

It won’t be about gender
Nor will it be about race
But if you treat them harshly
I’ll rearrange your face

You think that I’m dramatic
Think I’m being over the top
I broke their uncles leg once
So don’t think I’ll stop

I’m a gentle giant really
My patients do run long
But start reaching for a flower
And my feelings get quite strong

They mean the world to me
Their mother does agree
So watch how you do treat them
Or you just might lose a knee

I won’t be calling Guido
Or a special forces friend
I’ll handle your demise myself
I will become your end

So just in case I’ve scared you
Got you shaking at the knees
At least I know you listen
So I’ll say the rest with please

Know that they want to go with you
That you’ll always be there
Make sure that you move slowly
Handle with loving care

And know that if they call me
I will always be right there
For my children are my flowers
If you hurt them my heart tears

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My children are like flowers – Poem (A dads warning to would be “daters”)

  1. gemini232006 says:

    Well Said. Beautiful Poem. My father would appreciate this a lot. Your children are very lucky to have a father like you.

    • Thank you for the wonderful comment. Much appreciated. I’m the lucky one to have my three great kids.
      Thanks also for your military service and that of your husband. You many enjoy a song that my brother and I wrote. One of these days I may record it and post that, but until then, you may appreciate reading the words.
      I hope you enjoy it: http://wp.me/pNbgI-1t

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. Clever and beautifully expressed!

Your thoughts?

