Simple things in life – Poem


Simple things in life

What say you
From your ivory tower
Looking down on Smallville

Do you have the world on a string
Do you tap your foot
And send a ripple through the world below

Making people jump
Blurring visions, sliding timelines
Painting facades

Just so you know, from fifty-seven floors up
It’ll take a big thump to reach me
With enough ripple to upset my boat

You can have the shiny high-rise
With your one way mirrored walls
Reflecting the nature of you

I’ll take the handholding of my daughter
Helping her through the pain
Giving the comfort of peace through touch

I’ll take the sliding down a slip-n-slide
Water flying, bruises and all
Showered with laughter and sunshine smiles

Is it an easy road
Not implying it is
But I have the opportunity to express myself

The love of family
Support of friends
And a keen eye for the beauty around me

The moon at night
A double rainbow as the sun comes out
After the joy of a major thunder-storm

The excitement of a child
Eyes and smiles lighting up
With new discoveries of life

Have you forgotten where you started
Or the simple pleasures of life
I hope for your sake, no

Are you down in Smallville
Looking at the Ivory tower
Letting the simple things in life expire

For you too

I hope the answer is no

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

