My foot is slipping – Poem


Sometimes, when I’m on my drive home, a line will pop into my head and I’ll just go with it. This poem came from one of those times. When that happens, I pull out my phone and hit the voice recorder. Once in a while, I’ll go back and play through them and find something like this waiting for me.

My foot is slipping

My foot is slipping
I believe our relationship got off
On the wrong foot
Cause that foot is now sliding down the bank

Now don’t take this the wrong way
You’re a lovely lady
But my foot is sliding
And I believe self-preservation is kicking in
And as such, I’m kicking you up to the curb

Now you could take this the wrong way
You could take it as rejection
But note that I am kicking you to the curb
Not into the ditch

So I don’t know if it’s self-preservation
Or just the “right thing to do”

But for now, my foot is slipping
And if I hold on to you
We’ll both end up in a world of hurt
At the bottom of the muddy ditch
At which time, we’ll have to end

So for now,
My foot is slipping
And therefore, my other foot
Is kicking you to the curb

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2012

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My foot is slipping – Poem

  1. wwwgirlontheband says:

    My Brother Stephen, you are such a good writer! Thanks for sharing. I miss you. The time you made me breakfast breakfast, at your house, long ago, is something I cherish!
    It says I’m logged in as girlontheband….well, that’s weird.

  2. Hey sweet sis!
    Thanks for the encouragement! I remember that breakfast too. Come on over anytime and I’ll do it again :D… wish it were that easy. Isn’t girlontheband Em’s login? Anyway, good to hear from you!

    Love ya,

    Stephen

  3. sonofwalt says:

    Holy cow! Perspective! I love this. You use the metaphor to put not only a positive spin on, but a more accurate analysis of the situation. This is the sort of clarifying that figurative language can do, and you did it so well!

    I also use the voice recorder on the phone, and sometimes a little hand held. My downfall is in not reviewing the recordings soon enough. I find if too much time goes by the words I left behind on the tape are too far removed from whatever forgotten emotion elicited them in the first place. Kudos to you for not falling into that trap.

Your thoughts?

