What am I (Response to Show Don’t Tell) – Haikus


I wrote this back on the 2nd of Feb as a response to a writing prompt on another site. Since I haven’t written much here (or there) I thought I’d post it just to have something to share with the rest of y’all. Guesses in the comments are good 😀 Here’s the post:

What am I (Response to Show Don’t Tell)

Madman’s scream is heard
I, neath relatives interred
Sacrifice concurred

Sword gripped in his hand
He would master new raw land
Pulling one from bland

Driving to despair
As he tugs and pulls his hair
Thoughts were forming there

Raising his sword high
I felt sure the next would die
As blue blood did fly

From the sword tip flowed
Glorious stories untold
Starting to unfold

Stephen Kellogg – 2013
I started this last night and then finished it this morning putting a bit more things in there that can be guessed at. Plus a guess at the overall scene. Enjoy!

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What am I (Response to Show Don’t Tell) – Haikus

  1. Alice Keys says:

    Theseus from under the catacombs is my son (12) Paul’s guess. Or Hercules.
    George (17) says maybe Genghis Khan because he was a madman and captured cities with catacombs. Or some Viking guy.
    I vote for the Nac MacFeegles of Terry Pratchett. Live under burial mounds. Blue.Great swordsmen. Changed the Disc world.
    My husband thinks Robert E Lee because of the Richard Bland connection. Bland was a planter.Lee is buried under “Lee Chapel” in Lexington Virginia. At first he thought it was someone from the French revolution.

    We loved this. Right or wrong. What fun. Thanks.
    Alice
    PS I’ve missed your posts. Don’t let “real life” get in the way of writing. 🙂

  2. Alice and family… Thanks for playing…
    Those are all fun / wonderful guesses… but what I failed to mention in the post is the original prompt said… take a household item and describe it without telling what it is.
    So, mine is a bit grandiose on description. If y’all want to play again and think about things around the house with a hint that – it could have been me…, then have at it. If not, I’ve got your e-mail so I can send you the answer(s), just let me know.

    I’m working hard to bring the balance back… it’s too important not to. Thanks for the encouragement and I hope to post more soon. Still have poem / response with you in mind… just working on the time.

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • Alice Keys says:

      What a laugh we all just had. We’ll work on household items then. My husband says to tell you we have Nac MAcFeegles AND Robert E Lee around our house. I’ll re-post if we can come up with answers. Still. A lot of fun.

      Ah. Balance.

  3. Alice Keys says:

    Okay. Back to the family mastermind alliance.

    At first I was certain that this was garlic. Your poem expresses the spiritual essence of garlic being sacrificed by the kitchen sword to make food into the whole story.

    Then, I was equally certain that it was a letter opener slicing open the mail at tax time.

    Then we three (me and the boys) had the simultaneously occurring thought of a blue pen. I would add it’s a blue pen that was dug from a drawer filled with dead pens. The writer struggles to find one that will write. Ideas hum. Hair is pulled. Finally this one writes. Yay.

    My husband is still certain it’s Robert E Lee. 🙂 Or an egg beater.

    Email me the answer if you don’t want it posted here. I sense another reason to blog. Riddle poems.

  4. Anonymous says:

    A pen?

  5. tram95835 says:

    That was me posting just a second ago…

    • Tram,
      a pen is part of it… 😀

      Who / what is the madman?
      What is the “I” in the first haiku?
      What is the blue blood?

      What’s the overall story?

      Thanks for jumping in a guessing, I can always count on you to guess on here and on the photo blog 😀

      Peace,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

