THE WISH FISH (Response)


A fellow writer Alice Keys wrote THE WISH FISH MICRO-fiction #7: each tale 100 words, exactly. This is my response – also 100 words exactly.

THE WISH FISH (Response)

As the third rock breaks the surface, the large gray fish lets out an air bubble sigh.

Seeing the silhouette of the little girl, he pictures strawberries.

The third rock settles onto the pile among its predecessors.

He notices another figure standing nearby.

“That’s it?” he hears it ask.

“Yup” the little girl replies.

Breaking the surface he speaks “Princess?”

“I wish for strawberries” she says.

He sighs, drifting strawberries from mind to bank.

“Not world peace?” he asks.

“Maybe next time.” She says.

“Why not wish for word peace?” the boy asks.

The fish smiled, one day my prince.

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

 

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to THE WISH FISH (Response)

  1. Loved Alice’s story on this, and you aced it, Stephen!

  2. Alice,
    OK, there’s a start.. I had a little time, went and grabbed something from your blog that reached out and said pick me, pick me. So I did. I enjoyed the read and it begged for a response.

    Peace,

    Stephen

  3. deanabo says:

    I absolutely love this.

  4. Alice Keys says:

    Stephen,
    This is beautiful. It brought tears to my eyes. You out did me with the story from the side of the fish. I read it to my family. They all loved it too. I am in awe.
    Alice
    PS Thanks for poking around in my writing. I feel good to hear you’ve been reading.

  5. Alice,
    My pleasure! I know we’ve talked about poem / response… so I had some time and your 100 word story really painted a wonderful picture and a sad bit of commentary on how some would actually respond if given the opportunity. Many become a grab it and growl, fast food mentality, hollow shell I’m afraid.

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • Alice Keys says:

      Peace and Love to you my friend.

      I had that sad feeling when I wrote mine about how people may use delightful miracle opportunities in less than miraculous ways. Probably this story is a reminder to myself to make good choices.

      I write anything with words or without words. 🙂 All response are good. I’ve been stewing on a back burner about your riddle poem and wanting to make one of my own. So many words projects and so little time. So glad to see you back in the saddle. Yee Haw. I love your word smithing.

  6. Pingback: The Wish Fish | ONE OF A CLASS

  7. oneofaclass says:

    I liked your version of the Wish Fish a lot. I wrote a response story to your response story.

Your thoughts?

