Almost lost, Hope (Response Poem)


This is my 100 word response poem to Deana’s poem Hope almost lost at MyThoughtsOnTheSubjectAreAsFollows. She wrote it for Velvet Verbosity 100 word challenge – The prompt word is : Shake

 

Almost lost, Hope (Response Poem)

 

You who are there

Shattered, suffering

Under broken pieces of soul

Hold on to your heart

 

Reach out past the pain

Others are there, they care

Fighting back is not in vain

This addiction too can be broken

 

Build your own wall known only to you

Protect your heart with love and truth

One day you’ll burst out from behind those walls

You’ll do such shaking they’ll have to fall

 

Don’t give up hope

Don’t let them win

Overcome the attempted killing

Use your heart deep within

 

One day soon,

Your heart will help you win

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Almost lost, Hope (Response Poem)

    • Susan,
      It felt a bit rushed but alas, I must be off to bed soon. up at 5AM tomorrow…

      But thanks and I hope people have time to check out the post that prompted the response.

      Hope you are well,

      Stephen

  1. Carrie Lange says:

    I read the prompting poem. perfect and beautiful response. 😉

    • Carrie,
      Thanks for stopping by and especially for leaving feedback. I’m glad you read the original and I hope most people do when I post a response poem. I’m a bit short on time tonight as I’ve already pushed my wake up time to 530(ish) but I’ll get out to look around your blog soon. Thanks again for taking the time to read both and then give feedback.

      Peace,

      Stephen

  2. deanabo says:

    I love that you did this. Thank you so much for reading my thoughts and then adding your own. Beautiful!

    • Deana,
      Thanks for the inspiration! I’ve written and read another one along the same lines that you may enjoy as well http://wp.me/pNbgI-iq
      That link is to the post on my blog but if you search “You – poem with reading” in the search box on my blog, it should be the top result.
      You can also search “response” and you will see many response poems that I’ve written… believe it or not, I also do original pieces 😀

      Thanks again,

      Stephen

Your thoughts?

