Waking (Response Poem)


Another response poem this one to whimsy~mimsy‘s poem waking. Thanks again for another poem inspiring poem.

Hers really is a lovely poem and you should go and read it, even if it means not reading mine. I toyed with just leaving hers alone and not responding, but then a response spilled out. Plus, you’ll likely have a better understanding of my poem if you read hers first… hint, it’s not written from the perspective of either of the people she references.

Waking (Response Poem)

I, still resting on a hill
Watch the world
Twist it’s fingertips once again
Bringing me slowly back into reality

And your love
Mouthing words of other worlds
Turns to you
Outer touching inner
As I slide down the curves
Fingers stretching out
Caressing the hills and valleys

My warmth on the nape of the earth
Bridges
Beckons
Pulls
You Into me

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

 

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waking (Response Poem)

  1. Whimsy Mimsy says:

    🙂 ooohh I do like! Your ending, with its brevity, I like more than mine. LOL

    You tend to be more literal in response, as if they are poetic conversations. I tend to read and pull a word or a thought, or even sometimes almost a thought reflected from it…that pulls words from me (along the lines of playing 6 degrees of separation, if that makes sense).

    I’ll definitely have to give it thought! You write lovely poems. I’m a bad blog friend. I’ve been busy and am way behind in my reading. 😦

    • Glad you like it… You’ll see no stones thrown from me on the “blog friend” front, I drift in with the wind, set fire to the place and catch the next rain cloud out 😀

      It’s hard to be consistent and I think most folks know it and understand.

      I’ve enjoyed response poems… Thanks for continuing to provide poems that pull response poems out of me … 🙂

      I appreciate you saying that bit about my response poems being more literal in response, as if they are poetic conversations. That means a lot!

      Thanks

      Stephen

  2. Alice Keys says:

    Very nice response poem. Love and the earth. I read Mimsy’s, too. Both are lovely together or apart.

Your thoughts?

