For Pops – who I’m sure is resting in peace – poem


On the morning of the 22nd of March, a little over a week ago, my dad passed away. The following Sunday, after helping one of my kids with a school project and sending him off to bed around midnight, I sat down to write a poem that would go in the program at his memorial service that Tuesday. If you knew my dad, you’ll understand many of the parts of the poem, if not, then it may not have the same meaning for you. I wanted to share it here anyway. Below is what I wrote:

——

I have written poems for others who have lost their dad or other loved ones. Now I sit and write a poem to remember my own dad. One of many, I’m sure. So many words and feelings and yet I still don’t know what will come out. Much like my dad, I trust it will be heart.

 

Pops,

Many remember the words you’ve shared
Christ in you, the Kingdom and more

Many have heard you preach with conviction
Pray for folks, perform baptisms, weddings

You’ve traveled the US and Africa as well
Spreading your love for God

Much of that will be heard today
Amazing, true and good to hear

But me, I remember another side
A proud, loving, supportive Papa

Who went to my coach, humble as can be
To learn techniques so I could improve my game

Who’d play me in Ping-Pong, but use his left hand
Loving in teaching, encouraging, even in sport

You, Pops, a card carrying member of the note taking kind
3 X 5’s in your pocket with pen at hand

Always a smile to share, quick to spread
From your face to others

Eyes that said hello and gave love and acceptance
Without a word needing to be said

My dad, role model to MacGyver
Little red Swiss army knife in his pocket

(A habit, much appreciated,
Passed along from father to son)

A measurement here, some boards and nails there
And in a little bit, voila, a new desk appears

You, Papa San, poem at the ready
With a plethora committed to memory

A bounce in your step
A hummed or whistled tune

A “hallelujah!”
With a slight jump and a swinging arm

My fishing buddy, times shared and connections made
Whether side-by-side, in the boat or across the pond

You taught me to bait a hook, tie on a fly
To flick the wrist and make the line lay nicely

To enjoy nature, and just being,
Whether the fish were biting or not

You, Grandpa, holding little ones with care
Cradled in love, encouragements whispered

Asking questions, not generic, but caring
And specific to the grandkid at hand

Encouragement always at the ready
Excitement showing in eyes and tone

Seeking to engage, to learn more,
Offering support and hugs

You have been a steady rock
Always available when I need

You showed me love, unconditionally
One of the greatest gifts a son can receive

Your strength, encouragement, wisdom
And unconditional love are still felt and continue on

Thank you Pops, for all you gave
To and for me and my family

With mixed feelings of sadness and joy I write
You are missed, remembered, felt and loved

 

Love you,

Stephen

 

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to For Pops – who I’m sure is resting in peace – poem

  1. Alice Keys says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. What a lovely poem. The world must also mourn the loss of such a fine man.

  2. My condolences to you and your family on the passing of your ‘Pop’, such an extremely difficult time. Your words were lovely and heartfelt and I am sure he shall hear them being spoken and be very proud of his son. Take Care. x

    • Rambly,
      Thank you. I’ve written poems for others who have lost loved ones and I knew this day would come where I’d have to write one for my own dad. Overall the family is doing well. Thanks for your kind words.

      Peace,

      Stephen

  3. Whimsy Mimsy says:

    Oh, Stephen. I’m sorry for your loss. What a lovely tribute! Thank you for sharing. The pieces we don’t quite get or understand only serve as a testimony to your closeness with the inside jokes. 🙂 from what you wrote, I think he would be proud as punch that this was your eulogy.

    Lots of love,
    Mims

    • Thanks Mimsy! I’m sure I could have written “I Love you Pops, you’re the best” and he’d have been proud… that’s just the way he was… Thanks for your comforting words.

      Stephen

  4. My oldest son calls me, “Pops.” I have no words. HUG.

Your thoughts?

