Sister-in-loves – Poem – NaPoWriMo2013


I recently had the pleasure of seeing two of my nephews and meeting the wonderful spouse of each. During the time we shared, there was a special scene (ok there were many) I was able to witness between the two of them. This poem attempts to capture it.

Sister-in-loves

You sit
Squeezed into the chair together
Unaware of the phone
About to steal your image

Capturing in digits
A snapshot in time
Of moments lived
Strung together in motion

Love, felt and shared
Carried there
In the realm of chair
Legs draped over one another

Smiles, Sister-in-loves
Fun to see
Click goes the phone
They smile at me

A better pose
A wonderful capture of smiles
Grins that elicit response
Cement friendships

The new photo, posed yet still alive
Fails to capture the original beauty
Of moments shared
Squeezed together in the chair

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sister-in-loves – Poem – NaPoWriMo2013

  1. Alice Keys says:

    This is a very visual slice of reality. Thanks for painting a spy hole into your life with words. Lovely.

    • Alice,
      Thanks… I think that’s one of the great gifts of poetry and writing in general. In fact, I just finished up a poem I’ll be posting in a few that speaks to this… Glad you enjoyed and thanks for the continual feedback.

      Stephen

  2. Oh, I can see them. Wonderful capture.

  3. No need for a camera – we can see them through your words.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I love this!! Such sweet moment to capture with the perfect words!! 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    That last comment was by me, Alicia.

  6. Deborah says:

    Kodak in words!

Your thoughts?

