Basement dweller speaks – haiku – poem


Cozy little town
Tucked away in a basement
Lying in the dark

This poets poor brain
Churns and burns on haikus grand
And rhymes oh so bland

Head on soft pillow
Covers pulled up nice and tight
Fighting nights cool bite

Soft tunes drifting by
Eric Clapton’s Unplugged plays
I think, dream and write

Happy thoughts, a smile
Words spilling, uncorked at last
Basement dweller speaks

Stephen Kellogg – 2015

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Basement dweller speaks – haiku – poem

  1. Alice Keys says:

    Me hopes this cold basement dwelling is a metaphor. Brrr. I’m cold fingers typing this morning. 🙂

  2. Alice,
    Alas, you hope in vain, no metaphor here. Posted this poem from my phone while tucked securely under my covers. Decisions had to be made and things have changed up for me a bit. At some point, via e-mail, I’ll catch you up on where life has me in this journey.

    Peace,

    Stephen

  3. Alice Keys says:

    Stephen.
    Sorry. Certainly email me. Life keeps doing that change thing, eh?
    ((HUGS))
    Alice

Your thoughts?

