I am alive – Poem


So I’ve been away for quite a while but I’m still kicking. I plan to start cutting out some of the other time consumers in my life and get back to one of my loves… writing!
Last week the kids and I went camping and had a blast. It was great to be back in nature, moving through the woods, splashing in the stream and sitting by the falls feeling it blow gentle mist my way.

The kids and a great time and were a blast to watch, listen to and play with as well.

The poem below doesn’t do it justice, but maybe some photos will help. I’ll be posting photos from the trip on my photo blog http://stephenkelloggphotography.wordpress.com

 

I am alive

It may not appear so as you pass by

The one portal of my life you know

Smudged over, cobwebs hanging low

But

I am alive

Just climbed to the top of a little mountain

Breathed in fresh air

Climbed the boulders

Crept close to the edge

Life invigorated as I

Danced among the clouds

Dreamt of flying with the birds

Saw the kids soak in their world

Back to camp we went

Chasing trails as they emerged

Snapping photos of plant and bird

Cool stream water

Pranced over, around, through my toes

Into my heart

Down the falls to pools below

Watched my children laugh and play

Hunting dreams along trails

Climbing cliffs

Balancing on rails

Songs around the campfire

Drop biscuits in iron skillet

Guitars played on

Tired bodies flopped into sleeping bags

Gentle snores and shuffles

Rain danced on tent fly

Evening choir, quiet for a change

Morning sun

Match sparks fly

Wood gives life to flame

French toast all around

Smiles break into plans

Another hike in store

Muscles sore but adventure awaits

Off to stake our claim on the trails

Several refreshing days of

Breeze

Mountain top views

Valley river chases

Waterfalls

Peaceful places

Grace and innocence

As mama and baby deer

Look up with perked ear

We soak in the view

Then walk on

Rock to root

Dirt turning to sky

As we try to not “fall through”

It’s a world that still exists

Captured in photos, hearts and heads

Shared through this blurry portal

Glimpse another part of my world

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

 

This was a quick run to get the writing juices flowing and posting … I reserve the right to come back and edit it 😀

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am alive – Poem

  1. wwwgirlontheband says:

    Stephen,

    Loved your wonderful, refreshing poem!

    You are a great Dad!

    Keep up the good work!

    Love you, Your Sis, Karise

  2. oneofaclass says:

    Welcome back! It’s nice to get outside and experience nature, especially through your kids’ eyes. There’s so much useful perspective there. I hope the NaPoWriMo didn’t burn you out. It nearly did me!

  3. Alice Keys says:

    Stephen, A very joyous welcome back to the smudged and cob-webbed “blurry portal”. I’ve missed your contributions to the poetry part of my life. A trip to the outdoors can be so refreshing. Family time is irreplaceable. :-)) Alice

  4. It doesn’t get much BETTER than all of that!
    I loved the water between your toes.
    Hello. Weclome ‘back’!

  5. Amy Race says:

    Absolutely love this! Very talented 🙂 Can’t wait to experience this with me kids…

Your thoughts?