Little white sandals – Poem


Just saw a photo of a little girl wearing white leather sandals. I had flashbacks of my own little girl… Had to stop and write 🙂 If you had / have a little girl in your life, I hope this brings back fond memories for you as well.

Little white sandals

Do you remember little white sandals
Leather, with little buckles
Tiny holes in the strap
Pulling them tight, but not too tight

Do you remember watching
As pudgy little toes stuck out the front
Tiny soles bouncing and sliding
Across the dirt and rock

Do you remember curls bouncing
Chubby little arms raised up
Beaming grin
As you picked her up

I do
I remember it well
The smile on your face then
Still graces mine now

 

Stephen Kellogg – 2013

About Stephen Kellogg

Poetry, Ponderings, Prose, Photos & Pounding out the Pathways All at my blog... I hope you'll take a few minutes to wander around the site. Not all of what you read there will be happy or sad etc. but I trust my writings, photos etc will encourage, touch, inspire or just make you think…. I really appreciate feedback!! Thanks and enjoy Peace! Stephen Kellogg All of my writings, pictures etc are original works, unless otherwise noted, and should be considered copyrighted.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little white sandals – Poem

  1. unfetteredbs says:

    Thanks for the smile and the flashback. My college gal was home this weekend. I caught her napping– still looking like my baby. This was wonderful.

  2. Alice Keys says:

    I can see those toes. very sweet recollection.

Your thoughts?